building against non-system gcc

Apr 17, 2015 at 10:41 PM
my system gcc/stdc++ is old, so I built 4.9.2 from source an it lives at /opt/gcc-4.9.2
I want to build the REST api against 4.9.2...
I've figured out most of it except for one thing, when I examine the resulting libccprest.so with ldd, it seems to be looking in /usr/lib64 for libstdc++. so it will always pick up the old one.

Q: is there a way to set rpath to my new gcc/stdc++ in the casablanca build?

thanks
Coordinator
Apr 21, 2015 at 3:13 AM
Hi mlabs,

I'm not exactly sure what the best way to do this is, but you could try adding the -stdlib=libc++ option to the CMAKE_CXX_FLAGS as indicated here.

Steve
Apr 22, 2015 at 12:06 AM
hmm still not having much luck here...

the problem seems to be that I don't know how to control the final rpath on the resulting libcpprest.so (I'm a total cmake noob, so that's not helping either).

what it is doing currently is setting rpath to the absolute path to my new boost libs, which I guess it is doing because those are calculated dependencies of libcpprest. That creates two problems, firstly, that path will be invalid when I deploy and second, it let's my old system libstdc++ so get pulled into the mix.

My plan was to use $ORIGIN/newlibs as my rpath and then have all the new boost/gcc so's in the 'newlibs' relative folder ... self contained and away from my old system libs

But I just don't know how to control rpath in a cmake build ... any tips would be greatly appreciated (the cmake manual looks pretty daunting)
Apr 22, 2015 at 7:20 PM
Edited Apr 22, 2015 at 8:18 PM
ok well I figured this out finally.

The first trick was to get cmake to stop magically generating the RPATH based on what was linking to libcpprest ...

I found that adding the following line to CMakeLists.txt:

set(CMAKE_SKIP_BUILD_RPATH TRUE)

did the trick.

Then I was able to set RPATH on the casablanca binary to whatever I liked by adding another line: